top of page

Another milestone added to Kaepernick’s legacy

It was announced on Friday, Oct. 23 that Colin Kaepernick would be inducted into the University of Nevada Athletics Hall of Fame.

Kaepernick’s legacy began in 2006 with the University of Nevada Wolf Pack.

In his four year tenure at the University, the dual-threat quarterback posted outstanding numbers in the air and ground game.

He threw for 10,098 yards and 82 touchdowns while also rushing for 4,112 yards and 59 touchdowns.

With numbers of 10,000 passing yards and 4,000 rushing yards, Kaepernick is the only player to post these stats during a career while at Nevada.

Kaepernick was awarded the WAC Freshman of the Year award in 2007 and was awarded the WAC Offensive Player of the year award in 2008 and 2010.

The last WAC player to receive the honor was Marshall Faulk of San Diego State in 1992.

In 2010, he led the Wolf Pack to a 13-1 record and had them ranked as high as 11, just behind number 10 Alabama with a 10-3 record.

Kaepernick also led them to a WAC Conference Championship, and a Kraft Fight Hunger Bowl trophy.

He was not done just yet as he was invited to play in the East-West Shrine game along with the Senior Bowl.

In 2010, he took home the Award of Distinction by the Touchdown Club of Columbus.

In 2011, he was drafted in the second round by the San Francisco 49ers who were led by quarterback Alex Smith at the time.

Kaepernick took the starting job in 2012 due to Smith’s injury and went on a marvelous run for a chance to play in the Super Bowl.

He led the 49ers to a 13-3 overall record, an NFC Divisional Championship and a Super Bowl appearance, losing against the Baltimore Ravens.

That season Kaepernick threw for 1,814 yards and 10 touchdowns and rushed for 415 yards and five touchdowns, continuing to show how dangerous he is as a dual-threat quarterback.

Kaepernick spent five years with the 49ers when the organization started to question where his focus was at on the field.

Throughout the 2016 season, Kaepernick kneeled during the national anthem protesting against racial injustice, police brutality and systematic oppression.

He was released by the 49ers at the end of the season.

Despite not playing in the NFL since then, Kaepernick continues to add awards to his legacy.

In 2017 he was awarded the Sports Illustrated Muhammad Ali Legacy award, the American Civil Liberties Union Eason Monroe Courageous Advocate Award, the GQ Magazine citizen of the year.

In 2018, the Harvard University W. E. B. Du Bois Medal. And now in 2020, the Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Ripple of Hope award.

Kaepernick continues to use his platform for the greater good by having a commitment to social change.


Colin Kaepernick was not the only Wolf Pack inductee. He was joined by running back Vai Taua and defensive end Dontay Moch, women’s basketball Dellena Criner, men’s basketball players Luke Babbitt and Armon Johnson.


bottom of page